Connect with us


It is dangerous for our development – CLOGSAG boss on performance criteria Akufo-Addo used to reshuffle



The Executive Secretary of the Civil and Local Government Staff Association, Ghana (CLOGSAG), Isaac Bampoe Addo has described the performance criteria that President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo used for reshuffling his ministers as dangerous.

He noted that the reshuffling was based on how the Ministers who were lawmakers performed in the recently-held parliamentary primaries of the New Patriotic Pary (NPP), not based on the actual performance of their work in the office.

Mr Bampoe Addo wants the President to have a second look at the basis for reshuffling his ministers.

Speaking in an interview with TV3’s Daniel Opoku on Thursday, February 15, he said “Is the government telling us that that is the benchmark for their performance? That you don’t even look at the impact that they are having at their ministries, their competence at their ministries but you are measuring them by an election in the primaries at their constituencies. Is this now the performance benchmark you are looking at? Then we should not hear anybody talking about performance in the public service.

“Because this is the benchmark that the highest level of governance in this country has given for ministers, not that they are performing in their ministries but it is based upon how they performed in their primaries at the constituencies.

“I think this is something we have to look at because it is dangerous for  our development  if this is the performance criteria that is being used.”

President Akufo-Addo relieved Finance Minister Ken Ofori-Atta of his portfolio in government, with immediate effect.

The other ministers who have also been removed include Information Minister Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Works and Housing Minister Francis Asenso Boakye, Kwaku Agyemang Manu, Health, Kwasi Anoako Attah, Roads and Highways, Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation Hon. Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, Gender, Children and Social Protection Hon. Lariba Abudu, Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Devt Hon. Dan Botwe, Sanitation and Water Resources Hon. Freda Prempeh, Tourism, Arts and Culture Ibrahim Mohammed Awal, Greater Accra Region Hon. Henry Quartey, Oti Region Mr. Joseph Makubu.

Mr  Kojo Oppong Nkrumah has however been reassigned to Works and Housing, Asenso-Boakye has also been reassigned to Roads and Highways.

This was announced by the Director of Communications at the Presidency Eugene Arhin on Wednesday, February 14.

“The President personally expressed his sincere appreciation directly to each of the Ministers and Deputy Ministers, who have exited Government, for their commitment, competence, dedication and hard work in office, which helped in the realization of Government’s mandate to the Ghanaian people over the last seven (7) years, and wished each of them well in their future endeavours,” the statement said.

Eye witness to any social issue, occurance or any form of information you would like to share, kindly send via Email : or WhatsApp : 0553506856 / 0246319949

Google News

Our Facebook

Exchange Rate


Top 100 Songs In Ghana

Premier League (Ghana)

Eredivisie (Netherlands)

Premier League (England)

La Liga (Spain)

Serie A (Italy)

Bundesliga (Germany)

Ligue 1 (France)