Connect with us


Six coup plotters sentenced to death by hanging



Six persons alleged to be coup plotters have been convicted by the High Court for conspiracy to commit high treason and committing high treason.

The sentence was handed down to them on January 24.

The Six persons including three soldiers are; Donya Kafui, aka Ezor (a blacksmith) and Bright Alan Debrah Ofosu (a fleet manager), were found guilty of conspiracy to commit treason and treason, while Johannes Zikpi (a civilian employee of the Ghana Armed Forces) was found guilty of conspiracy to commit high treason.

The Court has also acquitted Assistant Commissioner of Police Benjamin Agordzo, Colonel Samuel Kodzo Gameli and one other junior military officer, Corporal Seidu Abubakar.


Dr. Frederick Yao Mac-Palm, the Chief Executive Officer of Citadel Hospital (now deceased) and ACP Dr. Agordzo together with eight others were charged variously on April 24, 2021, for conspiracy to high treason, abetment to high treason and high treason.

Dr Mac Palm (A1- now Deceased), Donya Kafui alias Ezor (A2), Bright Allan Debrah Ofosu alias Bright Alan Yeboah (A3), Yohannes Zikpi (A4), Warrant Officer Class Two Esther Saan Dekuwine (A6), Cpl Seidu Abubakar (A7), Lance Corporal Ali Solomon (A8) and Cpl Sylvester Akanpewon (A9) were charged for conspiracy to commit high and high treason.

Col. Samuel Kodzo Gameli (A5) and ACP Dr Benjamin Agordzo (A10) have each been charged for abetment.

All 10 accused (then) pleaded not guilty and have been granted bail while standing trial.

After the death of Dr Mac-Palm (A1) who was then giving testimony, his evidence was expunged from the records.

From the Attorney-General’s (AG) Department, the Godfred Yeboah Dame led prosecution. Other memebers of the team are Mrs Yvonne Atakora Obuobisa, Director of Public Prosecution, Hilda Craig, a Principal State Attorney (PSA) Winifred Sarpong, PSA, Ms. Lawrencia Adika, State Attorney and Akosua Agyapomaa Agyemang, Assistant State Attorney among others.

The defence lawyers comprised, Ms. Rita Akukunti Ali, a lawyer from Legal Aid with Osei Kwabena and Linda Elikem Mensah represented Bright Allan Debrah Fosu, the third accused.

Lawyer Victor Kodjogah Adawudu represented Donya Kafui alias Ezor, (A2), CPL Seidu Abubakar, (A7), LAC Ali Solomon, (A8) and CPL Sylvester Akanpewon (A9) while Lawyer Anthony Lartey and Eric Kpongo are lawyers for Col. Samuel Kodzo Gamelie, the fourth accused.

Lamptiig Apanga leads Matthias Yir-Eru as lawyers for Esther Saan Dekuwine, the sixth accused. Lawyer Kormivi Dzotsi, being led by Martin Kpebu, represents ACP Benjamin Agordzo, the 10th Accused while Lawyer Ephraim A. Vordoagu and Lawyer Maud Opoku were those representing Dr Mac-Palm until his demise. They were discharged after the Court was informed officially of their client’s passing.

The three-member panel of judges was made up of Justice Afia Serwah Asare-Botwe, Justice Hafisata Amaleboba and Justice Stephen Oppong. They are all Justices of the Court of Appeal sitting as additional High Court judges.

Justice Asare-Botwe president over the panel.

Eye witness to any social issue, occurance or any form of information you would like to share, kindly send via Email : or WhatsApp : 0553506856 / 0246319949

Google News

Our Facebook

Exchange Rate


Top 100 Songs In Ghana

Premier League (Ghana)

Eredivisie (Netherlands)

Premier League (England)

La Liga (Spain)

Serie A (Italy)

Bundesliga (Germany)

Ligue 1 (France)